James V. Mink Scholarship

Award Description and Criteria

James V. Mink was the first president of the Society of California Archivists, and a long-serving archivist at the University of California, Los Angeles. He was a passionate advocate of archival education. The scholarship promotes professional development and enables archival studies students or recent graduates to attend both the SCA Annual General Meeting and a pre-conference workshop.

Note:  The James V. Mink Scholarship will not be awarded in years when the SCA Annual General Meeting is held virtually. 

All applicants must submit an application form, a brief (500 word) essay describing their professional goals/career in archives, a resume or CV, and a letter of recommendation from someone familiar with their goals in the archival profession. Additionally, applicants must meet one of the following criteria: 

  • Is enrolled in an archival education program in California or is a student member of SCA enrolled in an archival education program outside the state
  • Has completed an archival education program in California, is a member of SCA, and has less than one year of archival work experience 

Scholarship recipients are required to write a brief article for the SCA Newsletter following the AGM, introducing themselves and describing their conference experience.

James V. Mink Scholarship Recipients:

2023   Rosa Peña

2022   Dieter Mackenbach
            Brock Stuessi

2021   Grace Muñoz

2020    Jiarui Sun

2019    Ashley Evans Bandy

2018    Jessica Tai       

2017    Patricia Delara

             Jade Finlinson

2016    Mary Priest

2015    Jessica Maddox
2014    Joanna Chen
            Karen Raines
2013    Kim Mitchell
2012    Sara Seltzer
2011    Sarah Clothier
2010    Michelle Wallen
2009    Jessica Knox
2008    Rebecca Crowther
2007    Debbie Bahn Cyndi Shein
2006    Paul Sevilla
             Claudia Holguin
2005    Sara Roberson
             Jennifer Osorio
2004    Gigi D’Amore Brandon Metcalf
2003    Jessica Moran
2002    Andrea Leigh
2001    Marisol Ramos-Lum
2000    Kendra Van Cleave
1999    Steven Frame
1998    Su Kim Chung
1997    Jennifer Martinez
1996    Debbie Henderson
1995    Theresa Saputo
1994    James Eason
1993    Sydney Nelson
1992    Martha Olivera
1991    Janet Wadley
1990    John Gutierrez
1989   Debra Rogenmoser
1988   Susan Coffman
1987   Suzanne Forsyth (Initial Award)

To contact the Awards Committee, please email the Committee Chair at awards@calarchivists.org

© Society of California Archivists
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software